Board of Commissioners


Thank you for visiting the Columbia County website! As Commissioners, it is our goal to make county information available to you in the most convenient way possible. We hope this website gives you that opportunity. In addition to news and features about Columbia County, you can sign up to receive information on a variety of topics, from commission decisions to events in our county parks to the actions of our many advisory committees. In time, you will be able to report issues you may find throughout the county through an upgraded 311 system. Please go to our opt-in page to sign up for the type of information you want and need about Columbia County. 

About the Board of Commissioners

The Columbia County Board of Commissioners is the legislative and executive authority for Columbia County. The Board consists of three officials who are elected in non-partisan races every four years. One commissioner serves as chair, another as vice-chair and the other as budget officer.

Operating out of the county seat of St. Helens, the Board is responsible for some of the most important issues the community needs to thrive and be prosperous. From public safety, to economic development, to protecting natural areas and resources, to managing safe and reliable roads and public transit, the board works to assure that county residents are served in an efficient and effective manner. 

The Board collectively oversees most county departments, including CC Rider, the county’s transit service.  Commissioners also work closely with the county’s elected Sheriff, Clerk, Assessor, District Attorney and Justice Court.

Email the Board of Commissioners office

Meet your Commissioners

Casey Garrett

Margaret Magruder

Kellie Jo Smith

General Information
Phone Numbers
Fax: 503-397-7243
Emergencies: Dial 911
230 Strand St.
County Courthouse Room 338
St. Helens,

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.