## **COLUMBIA COUNTY**

## Board of Commissioners Office

Commissioners Margaret Magruder Henry Heimuller Casey Garrett **Administration**Jacyn Normine
Kathy Coddington

Communications Mark Pacheco



ST. HELENS, OR 97051

230 Strand St., Room 338 Direct (503) 397–4322 Fax (503) 366–7243 columbiacountyor.gov

## BEFORE THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Childcare Aware® of America and other organizations nationwide are recognizing Childcare Providers on this day; and

WHEREAS, childcare provides a safe, nurturing place for the enrichment and development of millions of children nationwide, and is a vital force in our economy; and

WHEREAS, the pandemic illuminated how indispensable childcare providers are for the well-being and economic security of Oregon's young children, families, and communities; and

WHEREAS, childcare programs, which are mostly small businesses, run and staffed predominantly by women, are still recovering from health and financial hardships stemming from the pandemic while they have continued to meet the needs of families; and

WHEREAS, Columbia County and the state of Oregon recognize that childcare has been a lifeline for families, communities, and the economy and as such, has provided much-needed support to providers to help sustain the viability of childcare by increasing investments in agencies that support the recruitment and retention of high-quality childcare options for families and improving access to programs that support young families; and

WHEREAS, our future depends on the quality of early childhood experiences provided to young children today; support for high-quality childcare represents a worthy commitment to our children's future; and

**Now,** therefore, we, The Board of County Commissioners of Columbia County, hereby proclaim May 10, 2024, as Provider Appreciation Day in Columbia County and urge all citizens to recognize Childcare Providers for their important work.

Dated this 1st day of May 2024, in the city of in St. Helens, Oregon.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON

Casey Garrett, Chair

Kellie Jo Smith, Commissioner

Margaret Magruder, Commissio