Dog licensing is handled by the Columbia County Sheriff's Office Enforcement Division. Dogs residing in Columbia County must be licensed once they reach six months of age. Failure to do so could result in an owner citation, with a minimum late fee of $75 and up to a $500 fine. Licenses are valid for one year and expire on the same date as the animal's rabies vaccination expires.
License applications can be mailed to the Sheriff's Office, along with proof of rabies vaccinations, or you may license your dog online. To send in your application by mail, you may download the form online or pick it up at the Sheriff's Office at 901 Port Ave. in St. Helens from 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday and 8:30 a.m. to noon, and 1 to 5 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.
The county's dog control shelter is located on the east side of the Holsheimer-Lamar Memorial Shelter at 2084 Oregon Street in St. Helens. The shelter is available by appointment only. To view any dog held by the county, make arrangements by calling the Sheriff's Office at 503-366-4611. The Dog Control Officer uses social media to post photos of dogs cared for by the County.
Persons wishing to file a complaint regarding animal-related issues and cases of animal abuse or neglect should contact the Sheriff's Dispatch at 503-397-1521 to file a report. To report abuse or neglect of animals other than dogs, contact the Oregon Humane Society at 503-285-7722, ext. 214 or complete the OHS online form.
Dog License fees provide the main support for services provided by Columbia County Dog Control. The Sheriff's Office accepts donations of food, cash, and other necessities for the dogs in its care. Contact our office to see how you can help.