The county's Holsheimer-Lamar Memorial Shelter at 2084 Oregon St. in St. Helens is the proper place to bring a dog you have found while the owner is sought.
The Dog Control Officer uses social media and email to connect with dog owners and posts photos of dogs currently held at the shelter. You can also post photos of your missing dog on our Facebook page.
Lost dogs can be reported to Animal Control by calling Sheriff's Dispatch at 503-397-1521.
To reclaim your dog, go to the Sheriff's office main counter to pay any impound or boarding fees that apply. If your dog is not licensed, you also will be required to apply and pay for a license, for which you will also need a rabies certification. Redemption fees include a $30 impound fee and a boarding fee of $15 per day.
Complete a license application →
The clerk will give you a release form once your fees are paid, and will make arrangements with the Animal Control Officer for you to pick up your dog from the animal shelter. Please note that weekend redemption of lost dogs is limited because the shelter is not staffed.
Oregon Revised Statutes and laws include many requirements for lost and found dogs, including potential criminal charges for persons who fail to process a found dog properly. To aid in complying with these statutes as well as a dog finder's desire to potentially retain a dog, County Dog Control has created the following policy: